Life Changes Result In Interruptions but Routine is Key

Unexpectedly we recently acquired a young pup, whom we adopted into our family. Her name is Penny, she is turning 4 months soon. Aside from that, my family is in the midst of relocating our roots. I have to apologize for my absence from posting. However, I am excited to share my experiences and lessons from the past few months. I have more insight on dog behavior and socialization, as well as, the unexpected little bundle of joy we will be raising. I will discuss issues like pet health insurance, concerns with cost, an unexpected emergency vet visit with Penny from food bloat, pitbull skin allergies, and such topics. Stay tuned for some good topics we can discuss.

How we met Penny…

Penny is a young pup who was a result of someone mating their dog to sell puppies. Why? Because she is a rednose pitbull and they saw profit in her parents’ colors. Pitbulls are in abundance and overcrowding the shelters because of careless overbreeding like this one. The man whom we acquired Penny from was walking her on the street and we happened to kneel down to pet her. The words just flowed after that. He explained that he owns the father. He showed us photos of a beautiful male dog with her exact white with brown patches coat and pink nose with hazel eyes. Penny was born into a litter of 10, and she was the last dog they had left. Or so he claimed. He was selling her for $200, he seemed desperate to find her a good home. The man seemed like he was attached to her, and she was crying when he walked away. Don’t get me wrong, I do NOT condone buying a puppy to fuel the power wheel of backyard breeding, but this man said the words, “I am so glad you guys want to take her, this other guy was trying to ask me if she was aggressive and I didn’t like his attitude about it.” That statement made me feel as if I was stuck with knifes, what if we didn’t take her and she ends up as an abused victim on my FB newsfeed, or she ends up worse…abused and forgotten about. I walked away from the guy having handed him all the cash in our pockets; a measly $142. That was two weeks ago. We did send the guy a video of Prince and Penny playing, getting along. And that is the story of Penny.

Leave a comment